hinduhome Non commercial website, for knowledge sharing. Free to copy and use, if you find it useful.


Earth (land mass) with curvature looks like the back of a Turtle which, is a good representation of the slowly sliding Earth plates. Scriptures (Varaha, an ancient geographer) classified earth land mass (bhudevi) into seven dvipas and further sub-divided into the varshas, surrounded by seven seas, after deluge or ice age.

Geography Myths

Lord Varaha

Lord Varaha carefully placed fearful Earth on the water and gave her the ability to float. The god in the form of a boar (varaha) plunges into the waters and brings the earth out. He also marries the earth thereafter. The cult of Varaha seems to have been popular in the Gupta era (4th-6th century) in Central India, considering the large number of Varaha sculptures and inscriptions found. Symbolism also attributes that evolution from water could relate to the geological phenomenon of the tectonic age. It could also represent the rescue of earth from “false cults”.

Hindu Universe - Cosmogony and Geography

There are 14 universes (Bhuvanas) in the Multiverse (= Creation or Srishti), and we live in the middle universe.

Continent or Dvipa

Earth consisted of seven dvipa or continents and each of these was divided into a number of varsas or subcontinents. These dvipas were surrounded by seven oceans containing salt, sugarcane-juice, wine, clarified butter, curd, milk and good drinking water (or these mixed in the water of the ocean).
(1)Jambu dvipa North, Central and Southern Asia (southern part is bharat) The Jambu dvipa, literally refers to "the land of Jambu trees" where Jambu is the name of the species (also called Jambul or Indian Blackberry) which occupied the central position, among the seven dvipas, had in its middle a golden mountain called Meru, with a ring of land. The Mount Meru is in the central and from which a number of other mountains including the Himalaya radiated in different directions like the petals of a lotus. This dvipa was divided into nine varsas or subcontinents, one of which was Bharata-varsa (India). Mount Meru is considered as the axis of the spherical earth. Jambu Dvipa is separated from the next dvipa Plakshadvipa by an ocean of salt.
(2)Plaksa dvipa: Mediterranean - some include north africa
(3)Saimali dvipa: East Africa - some include west /south Africa
(4)Kusa dvipa: Middle east
(5)Kraunca dvipa: Europe
(6)Saka dvipa: South east asia, australasia, Oceania
(7)Puskara dvipa: East and North East Asia

zones (Ksetra).

Jambu dvipa continent has 6 mighty mountains, dividing the continent into 7 zones (Ksetra). The names of these zones are: 1.Bharat Kshetra
2.Mahavideh Kshetra
3.Airavat Kshetra
5.Hairanyvat Kshetra
6.Haimava Kshetra
7.Hari Kshetra

Continent/ Island Ocean

Lavanoda (Salt - ocean)
Kaloda (Black sea)
Puskaroda (Lotus Ocean)
Varunoda (Varun Ocean)
Kshiroda (Ocean of milk)
Ghrutoda (Ghee ocean)
Iksuvaroda (Ocean of Sugarcane Juice)

Mt Meru

Surya Siddhantic system states that Mt Meru resides at the centre (equator) of globe
Indian Standard Time is calculated in Shankargarh Fort, Mirzapur (25.15°N 82.58°E)
Prayag 25.4358° N, 81.8463° E
Nashik 20.0000° N, 73.7800° E
Ujjain 23.1828° N, 75.7772° E
Kataragama 6°25'7.72"N Longitude: 81.333753.	
Kaleshwaram (18.8110, 79.9067)
Srikalahati (13.749802, 79.698410)
Kanchipuram (12.847604, 79.699798)
Thiruvanaikaval (10.853383, 78.705455)
Tiruvannamalai (12.231942, 79.067694)
Chidambaram  (11.399596, 79.693559)
Rameswaram (9.2881, 79.3174)

Email Contact... Website maintained by: NARA