hinduhome Non commercial website, for knowledge sharing. Free to copy and use, if you find it useful.


Smarta tradition refers to worship of five or six deities, Ganesha, Muruga/Kumara, Shiva, Vishnu, Surya and Devi (Shakti). Smarta tradition regards Adi Shankara as its founder or reformer. Shankara championed the ultimate reality is impersonal and Nirguna (attributeless) and any symbolic god serves the same equivalent purpose.
Smartas worship the Supreme in one of six forms: Ganesha, Siva, Sakti, Vishnu, Surya and Skanda. Because they accept all the major Hindu Gods, they are known as liberal or nonsectarian. They follow a philosophical, meditative path, emphasizing man's oneness with God through understanding.
Email Contact... Website maintained by: NARA